Bathurst 1000 live: Start time, how to watch, video, starting grid, V8 Supercars news 2021

Commentators were left in shock when the car of teenager Kai Allen started spewing flames during Race 2 of in the TGRA 86 Series.

Commentators were left in shock when a car started spewing fire on the first lap of Race 2 in the TGRA 86 Series on Saturday.

Ahead of the highly-anticipated Bathurst 1000, driver Lachie Bloxsom lost the rear of his car at the Dipper, causing carnage in Saturday afternoon’s race.

Kai Allen emerged from the trail of destruction with the rear of his car in flames, but the fire was quickly extinguished.

Stream every practice, qualifier & race of the 2021 Repco Bathurst 1000 Live & On-Demand on Kayo with no ad-breaks during racing. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >

“Unfortunately for Kai Allen it looks like he‘s made heavy contact in the front of that car and it’s dislodged an oil line or a fuel line or something,” commentator Andrew Jones said.

“That‘s a fair, fair flame out.”

Commentator Chad Neylon continued: “Oh look at that, it‘s just put itself out.

“That‘s amazing. That’s remarkable.”

Jones exclaimed: “That is unreal.”

Usually held in October, the Bathurst 1000 has been pushed back a couple of months due to the effect Covid has had on the Supercars schedule.

Kiwi Shane van Gisbergen has already secured his second Supercars championship, but he’ll be looking to end the year on a high, while his Red Bull teammate Jamie Whincup is desperate for one last triumph at the iconic Mount Panorama circuit before he retires.

Chaz Mostert will start from pole position for Sunday’s Bathurst 1000 after breaking the lap record during Saturday’s Top 10 Shootout.

Mostert drove his Walkinshaw Andretti United Holden Commodore ZB around the Mount Panorama circuit in 2:03.373 seconds to beat the previous fastest lap time of 2:03.481sec set by Scott McLaughlin in 2019.

“I don’t even know what words (to say),” he said after his record-breaking lap.

“It was just so fun.”

The 161-lap Bathurst 1000 is scheduled to get underway at 12.15pm AEDT, and fans can watch all the action on Foxtel, Channel 7 or streaming platforms Kayo and 7plus.

Bathurst 1000 Top 10 Shootout results

1. Chaz Mostert — 2:03.3736

2. Anton De Pasquale — 2:03.6634

3. Cameron Waters — 2:03.6864

4. Brodie Kostecki — 2:03.7733

5. Will Brown — 2:03.9920

6. Tim Slade — 2:04.0507

7. Shane van Gisbergen — 2:04.3648

8. Will Davison — 2:04.7787

9. Nick Percat — 2:04.8987

10. Jack Le Brocq — 2:05.3313

The Bathurst 1000 grid

Will Davison/Alex Davison — Shell V-Power Racing Team

Anton De Pasquale/Tony D’Alberto — Shell V-Power Racing Team

Shane van Gisbergen/Garth Tander — Red Bull Ampol Racing

Jamie Whincup/Craig Lowndes — Red Bull Ampol Racing

Broc Feeney/Russell Ingall — Triple Eight (wildcard)

Cameron Waters/James Moffat — Tickford Racing

Jack Le Brocq/Zak Best — Tickford Racing

James Courtney/Thomas Randle — Tickford Racing

Bryce Fullwood/Warren Luff Walkinshaw — Andretti United

Chaz Mostert/Lee Holdsworth Walkinshaw — Andretti United

Will Brown/Jack Perkins — Erebus Motorsport

Brodie Kostecki/David Russell — Erebus Motorsport

Richie Stanaway/Greg Murphy — Erebus Motorsport (wildcard)

Scott Pye/James Golding — Team 18

Mark Winterbottom/Michael Caruso — Team 18

Tim Slade/Tim Blanchard — Blanchard Racing Team

David Reynolds/Luke Youlden — Kelly Grove Racing

Andre Heimgartner/Matt Campbell — Kelly Grove Racing

Nick Percat/Dale Wood — Brad Jones Racing

Todd Hazelwood/Dean Fiore — Brad Jones Racing

Jack Smith/Ash Walsh — Brad Jones Racing

Macauley Jones/Chris Pither — Brad Jones Racing

Fabian Coulthard/Jonathon Webb — Team Sydney

Garry Jacobson/Dylan O’Keeffe — Team Sydney

Jake Kostecki/Kurt Kostecki — Matt Stone Racing

Zane Goddard/Jayden Ojeda — Matt Stone Racing

Bathurst 1000 recent winners

2020 – Shane van Gisbergen/Garth Tander (Holden)

2019 – Scott McLaughlin/Alexandre Premat (Ford)

2018 – Craig Lowndes/Steven Richards (Holden)

2017 – David Reynolds/Luke Youlden (Holden)

2016 – Will Davison/Jonathon Webb (Holden)

2015 – Craig Lowndes/Steven Richards (Holden)

2014 – Chaz Mostert/Paul Morris (Ford)

2013 – Mark Winterbottom/Steven Richards (Ford)

2012 – Jamie Whincup/Paul Dumbrell (Holden)

2011 – Garth Tander/Nick Percat (Holden)

2010 – Craig Lowndes/Mark Skaife (Holden)

2009 – Garth Tander/Will Davison (Holden)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *