F1 2022: Emilia Romagna Grand Prix, Imola Grand Prix result, Max Verstappen wins, disaster for Ferrari, Charles Leclerc

It was once an unmitigated crisis for Ferrari at their house race in Italy as Max Verstappen chewed into their big name’s championship lead.

Max Verstappen has gained the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix in Italy to get again within the championship combat on a disastrous day for Ferrari.

Verstappen began on pole place and led from begin to end in what was once a slightly uneventful race in Imola.

The Dutchman has simplest completed two out of the 4 races this season however has gained either one of them, to turn he’s neatly and in point of fact within the championship hunt.

Watch Every Practice, Qualifying & Race of the 2022 FIA Formula One World Championship™ Live on Kayo. New to Kayo? Try 14-Days Free Now >

He claimed most issues from the victory, quickest lap and his win within the dash race on Saturday.

Verstappen’s teammate Sergio Perez was once rock cast in moment position, finishing an ideal Grand Prix for Red Bull.

McLaren’s Lando Norris rounded out the rostrum however he was once proficient 3rd position when Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc flew off the monitor overdue within the race.

Leclerc had modified tyes so to chase down Perez and set the quickest lap however he misjudged a tough chicane and bounced up off a sausage kerb and stale the monitor.

The championship chief was once in 3rd on the time and had his points of interest set on moment position, however he did neatly to not crash out of the race totally and recuperate to complete in 6th.

The slip-up way Leclerc’s lead within the drivers standings has been trimmed to twenty-eight issues forward of Verstappen, who has leapt up into moment general.

It was once an afternoon to fail to remember for Ferrari at their house race, with Carlos Sainz dominated out of the race when he collided with Daniel Ricciardo on the first actual nook at the opening lap.

Sainz was once fuming and believed Ricciardo was once at fault for the incident, however he wasn’t penalised.

It’s the second one race in a row Sainz has failed to complete after he spun off the monitor on the Australian Grand Prix.

“Ferrari are the ones that are going to feel like they’ve been punched in the stomach after today,” Sky Sports commentator Paul Di Resta stated.

“What could they have done to get some luck? With all that momentum, all that red in the grandstand, it’s just not happened.”

Daniel Ricciardo by no means recovered from the collision with Sainz and completed manner down in 18th — the final of the drivers who crossed the end line.

More to come back.

Emilia Romagna Grand Prix best 10

1) Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

2) Sergio Perez (Red Bull)

3) Lando Norris (McLaren)

4) George Russell (Mercedes)

5) Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)

6) Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)

7) Yuki Tsunoda (Alpha Tauri)

8) Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin)

9) Kevin Magnussen (Haas)

10) Lance Stroll (Aston Martin

Verstappen not off course for victory

Max Verstappen is cruising to victory forward of his teammate Sergio Perez, who’s being intently adopted through Charles Leclerc.

It took till lap 36 of the race for DRS to be enabled because the monitor dried. But there were only a few overtakes all through the Grand Prix.

Verstappen has lapped Lewis Hamilton, in an indication of simply how a lot the seven-time international champion is suffering this weekend.

Chaos within the pits

There was once chaos in pit lane when drivers rushed to modify from intermediate to slick tyres because the monitor dried in Imola.

Languishing in final position, Daniel Ricciardo had not anything to lose and was once the primary to change tyres and right away noticed the convenience.

He is now as much as fifteenth however will combat to get within the issues.

Alpine’s Esteban Ocon ran into Lewis Hamilton as they had been rising from their pit stops.

Ocon will have to have let Hamilton via and copped a five-second time penalty for his troubles.

Max Verstappen leads the race forward of his teammate Sergio Perez and Charles Leclerc.

Ricciardo off the monitor in early crisis

The race is underway and Daniel Ricciardo has had a disastrous get started, colliding with Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz at the opening nook.

Sainz moved up along Ricciardo and went the good distance round to take a look at and overtake him, however the McLaren held his flooring and the pair clipped their wheels and went off the monitor into the gravel.

Sainz couldn’t get again at the monitor and was once dominated out of the race in an entire crisis at Ferrari’s house race.

Luckily for Ricciardo, he controlled to force again onto the monitor and went into the pits to get recent tyres.

The incident prompted a security automotive however Ricciardo was once now not penalised. He fell all the way down to nineteenth position.

Commentator Paul Di Resta stated on Sky Sports: “It is more Daniel’s fault, just unfortunate where they are though.

“But I don’t think there’s much you can do about it. If they’re not allowed to do that, I think you’re not going to see close side by side racing.”

Lewis Hamilton’s season is already over

Mercedes is in dire straits and each Lewis Hamilton and George Russell will get started from the ground part of the grid.

Hamilton admitted Mercedes haven’t any hope of protecting their constructors name this yr after he certified 14th, 3 puts at the back of Russell.

“We are obviously not fighting for the championship this year — first of all we have to understand this car and improve and make some progress through the year,” he stated.

“That’s all we can hope for.

“We are all working hard and there are a lot of people in the team who have been here for 20 years — so it’s not new for them.”

Drivers should deal with a rainy monitor in Imola after it was once hammered through torrential rain.

The race is about to get underway at 11pm (AEST).

Emilia Romagna Grand Prix beginning grid

1) Max Verstappen

2) Charles Leclerc

3) Sergio Perez

4) Carlos Sainz

5) Lando Norris

6) Daniel Ricciardo

7) Valtteri Bottas

8) Kevin Magnussen

9) Fernando Alonso

10) Mick Schumacher

11) George Russell

12) Yuki Tsunoda

13) Sebastian Vettel

14) Lewis Hamilton

15) Lance Stroll

16) Esteban Ocon

17) Pierre Gasly

18) Alex Albon

19) Nicholas Latifi

20) Zhou Guanyu

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.